HomeAwards & HonorsThe Founder's Award

The Founder's Award

The Founder's AwardThe Founder's Award recognizes those Arrowmen who have given exceptional service to the Lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that they memorialize in their everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman.
The Founder's Award was established by the National Order of the Arrow Committee in 1981, following the death of our founder Dr. E. Urner Goodman. It was established to reinforce the values first instilled by the founders in the early days of the Order. From its inception, The Founders' Award has been highly restricted and bestowed only upon those individuals who best exemplify the vision and quest of the founders.

Kintecoying Lodge may petition the National Order of the Arrow Committee to present up to two awards annually. If the Lodge presents more than one award, one must be to a youth under the age of 21. There are no prerequisites for the Founders' Award, save that of being a member of the Lodge in good standing.

The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. The award is suitable for display at home, or the office. Also available is the Founders' Award arrow ribbon, similar to the universal arrow ribbon, except that it has a gold-colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

- Taken from the Order of the Arrow Handbook

*Click on the year to read Founder's Award presentation citations for that year. 

Year Youth Recipients Adult Recipients
2017 Samuel Messenger Gregory Hofer
2016   William Mulrenin
2015   James Shaughnessy
2014 Eric Kwapich Joseph Giattino

Last Updated on Saturday, 09 September 2017 13:16


Founder's Award Nominations

Go to top